Professorships in Neurology

An endowed professorship is the highest honor that a university can bestow upon a member of its faculty, recognizing outstanding contributions both to the school and to its holder’s particular area of expertise.  These chairs help highlight the excellence of our work, and make the Department the destination of choice for the brightest minds in medicine, ensuring that their work will be supported in perpetuity.

Since 2011, the following professorships have been created and/or bestowed in the Department of Neurology:

  • Adler Assistant Professor of Neurological Sciences (Elizabeth M. Bradshaw, PhD)
  • Boris and Rose Katz Professor (Scott A. Small, MD)
  • Boris and Rose Katz Assistant Professor (William C. Kreisl, MD)
  • Winifred Mercer Pitkin, MD Assistant Professor (5-year professorship, currently held by Kiran T. Thakur, MD)
  • Claire Tow Associate Professor of Motor Neuron Disorders (Neil Shneider, MD, PhD)
  • Weil-Granat Professor of Neurology (Philip L. De Jager, MD, PhD)
  • Darryl C. De Vivo Professor of Pediatric Neurology (TBD)
  • Stanley Fahn Professor (TBD)
  • Florence Irving Professor of Neuropsychology (Yaakov Stern, PhD)
  • H. Houston Merritt Professor of Neurology (TBD)
  • Karen L. K. Miller Assistant/Associate Professor of Neurology (TBD)
  • Belle and Murray Nathan Professor (TBD)
  • Sergievsky Family Professor of Neurology (Leal Suzanne, PhD)
  • Pediatric Neurology Professor (Umrao Monani, PhD)
  • Henry and Lucy Moses Professor (Michio Hirano, MD)