Search Site

Professorships in Neurology

An endowed professorship is the highest honor that a university can bestow upon a member of its faculty, recognizing outstanding contributions both to the school and to its holder’s particular area of expertise.  These chairs help highlight the excellence of our work, and make the Department the destination of choice for the brightest minds in medicine, ensuring that their work will be supported in perpetuity.

Since 2011, the following professorships have been created and/or bestowed in the Department of Neurology:


  1. Weil-Granat Professorship of Neurology (Philip L. De Jager, MD, PhD)


  2. Second H. Houston Merritt Professorship of Neurology (Un Jung Kang, MD)

  3. Boris and Rose Katz Professorship (Scott A. Small, MD)


  4. Boris and Rose Katz Assistant/Associate Professorship (William C. Kreisl, MD)


  5. Adler Assistant Professor of Neurological Sciences (Elizabeth M. Bradshaw, PhD)


  6. Winifred Mercer Pitkin, M.D. Assistant Professorship (5-year professorship, currently held by Kiran T. Thakur, MD)


  7. Belle and Murray Nathan Professorship (TBD)

  8. Darryl C. De Vivo Professorship in Pediatric Neurology (TBD)


  9. Florence Irving Professorship of Neurology (TBD)

  10. Sergievsky Family Professorship of Neurology (TBD)

  11. Stanley Fahn Professorship (TBD)